An overview of New Jersey DUI laws

| Jun 18, 2018 | Dui/dwi

The state of New Jersey imposes many different penalties against those who drive while impaired on drugs or alcohol. Those who are under the age of 21 may lose their license for up to 90 days and be ordered to complete up to 30 days of community service. They may also be required to participate in an alcohol education course. State law says that minors may not have a blood alcohol content of more than .01 percent.

Drivers who are 21 and over may not drive with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or higher. However, it is possible for drivers with a blood alcohol content at or below the legal limit to be charged with DUI if an officer sees signs of impairment. A first offense carries a fine of up to $400 and an auto insurance surcharge of $1,000 for three years. A second offense comes with a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 90 days in jail.

Drivers who are convicted of a third DUI will have their drivers licenses suspended for 10 years. A license can also be suspended for 10 years if an individual refuses three or more chemical tests. Fines of up to $250 and community service can be imposed on those who have an open container of alcohol in their vehicle.

A conviction of a DUI/DWI charge could have long-term consequences for an individual. Hiring an attorney may make it possible to have such a charge reduced or dismissed entirely. This might be done by arguing that a driver was under the legal blood alcohol limit when contacted by police. An attorney may also cast doubt on the accuracy of a blood or Breathalyzer test to help a driver obtain a favorable outcome in court.

FindLaw Network