Leave Feeling Like Your Burdens Are Lifted
Turn to Jack when life throws you a legal obstacle.

Home » Traffic Violations And DUI Defense » DUI/DWI » DUI/DWI Fines And Penalties

DUI/DWI Fines And Penalties

The only scientific way to determine whether a driver is under the influence is through blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Your BAC can be tested with a simple Breathalyzer test. In New Jersey, a person with a BAC of .08 percent or greater who operates a motor vehicle or a boat is considered to be driving under the influence (DUI).

Being convicted of a DUI is a serious offense, carrying heavy penalties, including:

  • Fines, fees and surcharges
  • License suspension
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Jail time
  • Community service

At the Law Office of Jack L. Stillman, P.A., we can help you understand what you’re up against when faced with a DUI/DWI. To speak directly with attorney Jack Stillman, call our law office at 732-333-8942 or take a moment and complete our online contact form. We are located in Manalapan, and we represent clients throughout Monmouth and Middlesex counties.

Below are some examples of potential penalties facing those accused of DUI/DWI in New Jersey:

Alcohol- or drug-related DUI with BAC of .10 percent or greater
License loss Fines, fees and surcharges Prison term Community service, IDRC and interlock
7 months
1 year
$300-$500 fine
$230 IDRC* fee
$100 to drunk driving fund
$100 to AERF*
$1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge
$75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
Up to 30 days 12-48 hours IDRC*
BAC .15 percent or greater: ignition interlock device during license suspension and 6 months to 1 year following restoration
Alcohol- or drug-related DUI with BAC greater than .08 percent but less than .10 percent
License loss Fines, fees and surcharges Prison term Community service, IDRC and Interlock
3 months $250-$400 fine
$230 IDRC* fee
$100 to drunk driving fund
$100 to AERF*
$1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge
$75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
Up to 30 days 12-48 hours IDRC*
Repeated DUI convictions
Offense License loss Fines, fees and surcharges Prison term Community service, IDRC and Interlock
Second offense within 10 years 2 years $500-$1,000 fine
$280 IDRC* fee
$100 to drunk driving fund
$100 to AERF*
$1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge
$75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
48 hours-
90 days
30 days CS
12-48 hours IDRC*
Ignition interlock device during license suspension and 1-3 years following restoration
Third offense within 10 years of second offense 10 years $1,000 fine
$280 IDRC* fee
$100 to drunk driving fund
$100 to AERF*
$1,500/year (for 3 years) surcharge
$75 to Neighborhood Services Fund
180 days Up to 90 days CS (can reduce period of imprisonment)
12-48 hours IDRC*
Ignition interlock device during license suspension and 1-3 years following restoration

Related Offenses:

Driving or riding with an open container
Offense Fines Community service
First $200
Second $250 10 days
Driving with a DUI suspension
License loss Fines or surcharges Prison term
Additional
1-2 years
$500 fine
$250/year (for 3 years) surcharge
10-90 days
Driving while possessing drugs
License loss Fines or surcharges
2 years Minimum $50 fine
Driving while possessing drugs
License loss Fines or surcharges
2 years Minimum $50 fine

Notes:

  • *IDRC Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
  • *AERF Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund.
  • Underage drinking may cause a six-month delay in getting a license.
  • Alcohol and drug-related offenses require completion of an alcohol screening and evaluation program.